Image 2021 05 17 T10 33 53


Rugby Round Up: Sale edge closer to play-offs with dramatic win!

Jamal Niaz morson news

Image 2021 05 17 T10 33 53

​Sale Sharks edged closer to a play-off spot in dramatic fashion with another thrilling win!

Bath 20- 24 Sale Sharks

Former Sharks center, Cam Redpath opened the scoring early against his old side as he went over on the left-hand side. Sale quickly responded and leveled the score inside the first ten minutes, as a brilliant team move featuring a slick under the legs offload from AJ MacGinty saw the ball work its way to JP du Preeze to crash over.

Josh Bayliss restored the lead for the home side in the 19th minute, but Byron McGuigan responded with a try for Sale after Faf found him to go over in the corner. AJ missed the follow-up.

Priestland’s kick at goal shortly after extended Bath’s lead, however Sale showed the grit and fight that has been ever-present this season, with Simon Hammersley getting over to get Sale on level terms again.

Priestland edged the home side ahead with another penalty, with a tricky period beginning for Sale as they were reduced to 13 men, with Wiese and Quirke being yellow carded. The Sharks yet again showed that they have no problem doing things the hard way this season, as Curtis Langdon powered over from the maul and AJ added the extras to secure a sixth consecutive win heading into a huge final three games against fellow play-off rivals Bristol Bears, Harlequins, and Exeter.

Alex Sanderson gave his post-match thoughts:

“I am elated at winning, and frustrated at how we won but we are a very difficult side to beat and we have proved that time after time. We need to be better disciplined and the next three games are going to be massive. We are going to play one of those teams twice.”

Bath: de Glanville; Watson, Clark, Redpath, Muir; Priestland, Chudley; Schoeman, du Toit, Thomas, Spencer, Ewels, Bayliss, Underhill, Mercer.

Replacements: Doughty, Bhatti, Judge, McNally, Faletau, Spencer, Bailey, Cokanasiga.

Sin-bin: Ewels (76).

Sale: Hammersley; McGuigan, S James, Hill, Yarde; MacGinty, de Klerk, Rodd, van de Merwe, Oosthuizen, Phillips, JP du Preez, Wiese, T Curry, JL du Preez.

Replacements: Langdon, Morozov, Harper, Neild, B Curry, Quirke, Wilkinson, Doherty.

Sin-bin: Wiese (57), Quirke (60), McGuigan (79).